Shannon Payne Bourke language portfolio

About me

My name is Shannon and I am 21 years old and I come from Ireland

I am currently in my 3rd year of university studying Molecular Biology but I have always had an interest in teaching. During the summer of 2019 I worked at a summer camp in New Hampshire in the United states. I was a camp counsellor as well as a ceramics teacher, I really enjoyed working with the children and helping them to be creative and have fun.

When I moved to Madrid I heard about the English language assistant program through a friend and applied immediately. I have been working in a primary school in Torrejon de Ardoz for 3 months and have really been enjoying my time there. I find the job to be rewarding because I can see a big improvement in a lot of the children’s English since I have started. They are all excited to learn, I enjoy when I get to work with the kids in groups of 3 and 4 because I get to create activities for them and make sure they are understanding the topic we are covering. Art class is also a good time because it gives me a chance to have conversations with the children and it gives them the time to put there studies into practice.

the link to my final project – lesson plan

https://wordpress.com/post/myonethousandlivesblog.wordpress.com/591


This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s